Arab Women Writers Recommend Their Favorite Arab Women Writers

Arabic Literature (in English)

In 2014, ArabLit did a very popular “Year of Reading Arab Women.” A number of readers asked for a follow-up in 2015. 

Here, nine acclaimed Arab women writers choose favorite novels by other Arab women writers.

>Recommendation from Mansoura Ezz Eldin

41kBW4IFS8L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Hoda Barakat’s Stone of Laughter (English version available from Interlink, trans. Sophie Bennett)

“The novel that I’ve loved the most by an Arab woman writer is Hoda Barakat’s Stone of Laughter, which I read for the first time when the Egyptian edition was issued in 1998, and this was the first time I knew her writing. I bought it during the last two years of exams during university from a newspaper-and-bookseller who stood in front of the University of Cairo’s main gate, after its cover grabbed my attention.

“I read the first pages and couldn’t leave the book until I had finished it. Akthough I had an important exam…

View original post 1,334 more words

Leave a Reply

